Getting Out of Bed

Just about everyone says they have a hard time getting out of bed in the morning, but if you have depression it’s much harder. Every day when I wake up, I don’t want to get out of bed. It’s not because I’m too tired, but because I don’t have the willpower to get up. When I tell my legs to move out from under the covers, they don’t listen. I ask my arms to push me up from the bed, but they refuse.

My bed is a safe place for me, I can be by myself and not have to worry about anything hurting me. When Im in bed, I am the closest to at peace that I’ll ever be. My anxiety is washed away by the warmth of my blanket, and my depression is smothered under my pillow. My fan sounds like a gentle rain, and if I’m lucky, I’ll fall asleep and forget my pain.

Author: Evan

I'm 19, I have clinical depression. I live with my mom, brother, and sister. My dad passed away in 2011. Video games are one of the few things that make me happy. I want the world to better understand depression

Leave a comment